Whole 30 | Food Log | Day 6

I have been in Sorrow’s kitchen and licked out all the pots. Then I have stood on the peaky mountain wrapped in rainbows, with a harp and sword in my hands. ~ Zora Neale Hurston

Breakfast: 3 egg omelette 2/3 banana
It was cold out this am, so no long walk for the puppy. That left me time to make an omelette for breakfast. I didn’t add sausage this time. I feel like my breakfasts have been too big, so I thought I’d just do the eggs. I added a bit of cilantro to the eggs for a little splash of flavor. I’d do it again probably. I shared 1/3 of the banana with someone at work. He couldn’t possibly have a half. Anyway, it was good. I felt good this morning. Everyone’s a winner.

3 egg omelette

3 egg omelette

Cilantro storage tip:
photo(3)I am waiting on an avocado to get ripe so that I can make some more delicious guacamole. But I already purchased cilantro and I was worried it would go bad before the avocado went good. So, I went to the interwebs for a way to store cilantro that will keep it fresh for longer. What I read was to cut the stems a bit, stick them in a glass of water, cover them with a plastic bag and put it in the fridge. It seems to have worked for this batch. Incidentally, basil does not like cold and should be stored at room temperature, if possible.

Lunch: leftover pot roast
Not much exciting on the lunch front today. Just that leftover pot roast again. I ran out of veggies from the roast, so I think Abby will get a little roast mixed in with her dinner tonight.

Dinner:
I was very full after lunch. I was not sure I’d ever be hungry for dinner. If this were actual pasta, it would have been way to heavy, but it’s not. It’s zucchini! The sauce is a bunch of veggies and tomato paste (with no added sugar) put into the Vitamix on soup mode. A little browned turkey and you’ve got a Whole30 compliant legal meal (I am pretty sure) Thanks to Tracy for making the magic happen!

Zucchini pasta with vegetable sauce

Zucchini pasta with vegetable sauce

Snacks: Banana and Macadamia Nuts
Bananas = life! I got a chuckle out of the comments.

Physical Condition Report:
Other than the horrors of menses, I feel fine today. I am a little tired, but I am not sure that puts me exactly on track with the Whole30 “what to expect” timeline. This is day six, so I should be wanting to nap. I do want to sleep, but it’s 10:00pm. So that makes sense. I am not looking forward to day 8-9 when I get the bloating, constipation, and tight pants. Stay tuned!

[ For LADIES ONLY – AND NOT ALL LADIES HAVE TO READ THIS IF THEY DON’T WANT TO ]
Cramps. Shedding of the uterine wall, yuck. At least I think that’s what’s happening. I saw that on PBS or somewhere. Bleeding isn’t too heavy yet. Normally it would be worse by now, so maybe that’s good. Or maybe I am just a day delayed this time. I don’t want to jinx anything. Anyway I’ll be SURE to keep you posted on all that sloughs. Anyway, at least I’m not pregnant, amirite?

Someone at work apparently didn’t get the memo about gum…
photo(4)

About Jennifer Andrews

is probably listing to musicals or covers and singing along.

Leave a Reply

