Whole 30 | Food Log | Day 26

Day 26 complete. I am getting on towards the end here. As of Friday, I will be a free woman. Well, Saturday. And really I don’t think I’ll be free. I still want all the cookies and diet cokes. So, I guess I am not free to tackle those just yet.

The tentative plan is to continue this until early May. We will see how it goes. I think it might be best to just keep on, since I’m already used to it. The occasional treat will be allowed for special occasions (NOT the stupid hard candy bowl at work that won’t go away). They say not to use food as a reward, or punishment, but that you should leave room for a few of those things you really enjoy – even knowing they are not good for you. SO, I plan to have some So Delicious Mint Chocolate Chip Dairy Free ice cream after this 30 days as up. In the Whole30 world they call this “off-roading.” If you do diverge into the unhealthy, they say, you should do it deliberately and without guilt. Then you should get back on the highway – or whatever.

As we draw nearer to the end of the program, I have been reading ahead on where I will be left on Saturday morning (day 31, if you will). Since this really isn’t a lose weight quick diet… it’s a healthy eating strategy… they encourage you to not be too caught up on the number on the scale. Sure, I have heard that a million times, but I do like the way they break it down. They give you a ‘new scale” by which to measure successes. They include lists like the following:

Physical (Outside)

  • Clearer skin
  • No more under-eye circles
  • Brighter eyes
  • Fresher breath
  • Whiter teeth
  • Flatter stomach
  • Clothes fitting better
  • Less bloating

Physical (Inside)

  • Healthier gums
  • Less swollen, stiff joints
  • Less painful joints
  • Fewer PMS symptoms
  • A more regular monthly cycle

There is stuff about your mood, sleep, etc. there too. It does make more sense to put more value on these kinds of visible changes instead of a number on a scale which no person other than myself (and I guess a doctor, nurse, medical assistant) will ever know – unless I tell them… which I most CERTAINLY WILL NOT.

It’s like they say. Nobody cares how much you weigh really… They just care if you’re fat and ugly. And I mean, they don’t even really care, they just might not want to hang out with you publicly. So… I mean all this is a real comfort, right? Sure it is! Not really. I suffer with the concept of dieting because I am not ashamed of myself. I have friends. I don’t hate my body. But I know that there is a part of the world that will always think you are more if you weigh less. I’ve obviously never really agreed. And I always wondered if some form of dramatic, magic weigh loss solution found me, would I be the same person? I’ve always liked this Woody Allen quote about weight loss:

When we lose twenty pounds… we may be losing the twenty best pounds we have! We may be losing the pounds that contain our genius, our humanity, our love and honesty.

Thusly, the goal is not to lose weight, but to be healthier. Should you be in the same boat, or perhaps just a dreamer, here’s an inspirational song for you to enjoy today. From the Musical Seussical “I’m Alone in the Universe”

Inspirational Song:


Food Log

Breakfast | 3 hard-boiled eggs, sweet potato, mango
Lunch | Chipotle bowl. Delicious this time.

Dinner | Porterhouse steak stir fry with baby bok choy, peppers, onions

Portion of porterhouse, bok choy, peppers, onions, and sweet potato

Physical Condition Report
I got very tired today around 3:00pm. I think all the mango is catching up with me. Chasing that Mango dragon is tough. One is one too many, and one more is never enough.


Daily Quote

I will be posting quotes for the next 4 days. I just decided. Here’s the quote of the day today:

“Fat’ is usually the first insult a girl throws at another girl when she wants to hurt her.

I mean, is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human being can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’ or ‘cruel’? Not to me; but then, you might retort, what do I know about the pressure to be skinny? I’m not in the business of being judged on my looks, what with being a writer and earning my living by using my brain…

I went to the British Book Awards that evening. After the award ceremony I bumped into a woman I hadn’t seen for nearly three years. The first thing she said to me? ‘You’ve lost a lot of weight since the last time I saw you!’

‘Well,’ I said, slightly nonplussed, ‘the last time you saw me I’d just had a baby.’

What I felt like saying was, ‘I’ve produced my third child and my sixth novel since I last saw you. Aren’t either of those things more important, more interesting, than my size?’ But no – my waist looked smaller! Forget the kid and the book: finally, something to celebrate!

I’ve got two daughters who will have to make their way in this skinny-obsessed world, and it worries me, because I don’t want them to be empty-headed, self-obsessed, emaciated clones; I’d rather they were independent, interesting, idealistic, kind, opinionated, original, funny – a thousand things, before ‘thin’. And frankly, I’d rather they didn’t give a gust of stinking chihuahua flatulence whether the woman standing next to them has fleshier knees than they do. Let my girls be Hermiones, rather than Pansy Parkinsons.” ~ J.K. Rowling

About Jennifer Andrews

is probably listing to musicals or covers and singing along.

Leave a Reply

