Whole 30 | Food Log | Day 27

Tumblr image to add a little color to this post.

I needed an image to give this top bit some color and came across this. I thought it was kind of interesting. It may be inaccurate. Don’t live by it.

Hello all. Day 27 is in the books. I am still keeping my eyes on the prize, but also looking towards what will happen next.

One of our co-30er, Melissa, would like to keep going till her birthday in April. She says she will add “Vegan Shakeology with almond milk” after her workouts for some extra protein. She says she will try not to do any drinking, and will save her “off-road” adventures for special occasions.

Becky and I have been talking about riding out “paleo – caveman + science” eating strategy through May, when I plan to run a 5k around my birthday, and we still need to plan on some sort of cycling challenge – which we have done before. Here are two potential such events in May:

Sunday, May 4, 2014 | Ride to Keep Kids Safe | 62 mile (metric century) ride
Sunday, May 11, 2014 Great Mother’s Day Race | 5k run

I’d like to do both of these events consecutively, or another similar 5k with a cycling event after. I just want to make sure I keep riding the bike because I love it so much.

On a side note, I’d also like to go see the The Wiz in the park around that same time. We can do it all, while easing on down the road. Looking forward to Summer!!!

“…This Is How Thin Feels”
My friend Ang and I have been discussing all this dieting business, on and off, for many years. This morning she shared her conclusion about dieting which is essentially, if you want to actually LOSE weight, you pretty much have to starve yourself. Her new mantra she says is “I’m not hungry…this is just how thin feels.”

I am hopeful that she’s wrong about this, and that the Whole9/Whole30/Paleo can be a a way to do better than just maintaining my current situation. I don’t have very ambitious goals — like a number — but I do have some pants I’d like to wear one day, and I would like to continue eating “real foods” rather than the processed stuff. It seems like the benefits are all very positive so far. And all along, I remember that I love my body. I am not my weight. I am not my big khakis, or my small khakis. But health is important, and a lot of food that tastes good is junk. Right? Yeah. Anyway, on to the food log.


Food Log | DAY 27

Breakfast | 3 hard boiled eggs, sweet potato
I still love this breakfast. I do still wonder if too many sweet potatoes might slow down weight loss success, but I think they make me feel like I am eating well. So, that makes it possible to continue without feeling like I’m missing out on the finer things in life.

Tip: Trick for Easy Hard Boiled Egg Peeling
A coworker of mine, who is a jackass, shared this video with me after watching me struggle with all that hard boiled egg peeling in the mornings. This trick hasn’t worked for me yet. If it works for you, please take video and share the video in the comments. Thank you!

Lunch | Leftover Porterhouse steak and mixed veggies

Added a little ginger to the Porterhouse steak and veggies leftovers.


Leftovers cost less.

Dinner |
Beckster tried something new last night and she ended up not liking it much.

Vitamixed veggies with crock potted chicken.

Snacks | Macadamia Nuts and Pistachios



Inspirational Video:

I know these Dove commercials are a little trite. But I guess I sometimes like that. I like that Dove has taken on this issue, even if they are ultimately an enormous conglomerate that really wants to make money off women’s insecurities by pretending that they want them to be less insecure so that women buy their products. Anyway, point being, I think there is a positive message here if you ignore a lot of facts. And, I am sharing this as an inspirational thing. You’re welcome:

Quote of the Day

When friends tell you how awesome you look, drop the “I still have more to go” crap. You worked hard and you deserve the compliment! ~Jillian Michaels

About Jennifer Andrews

is probably listing to musicals or covers and singing along.

Leave a Reply

