Whole 30 | Food Log | Day 8

Breakfast: 2 hard boiled eggs, sweet potato, macadamia nuts.
This was very delicious today. Might be my go-to lunch for awhile. My sponsor (Chris) keeps mentioning that I need more “oil.” That sounds like a good thing, sorta, but then she says… like a avocado or olives. I don’t like olives, and I am eating avocado, so I guess I am as good as I will get. I should find something to do with those coconut chips I bought. Anywho. Good breakfast.

2 hardboiled eggs, sweet potato, macadamia nuts

2 hardboiled eggs, sweet potato, macadamia nuts


Lunch: Delicious guacamole, carrots, celery, and chicken

Lunch today looked a little like dinner last night. I went to Boston Market and grabbed a chicken breast. I can’t say if they use butter or not, but I figure it is close enough. I had none of their sides. In particular, I did not have their delicious marshmallow and brown sugar covered sweet potato. Any other eating strategy from my past would have included eating that. No corn bread either. All extras went to our intern who was eternally grateful for the foods.

Chicken (from Boston Market which may not be legal) carrots, celery, and guacamole.

Chicken (from Boston Market which may not be legal) carrots, celery, and guacamole.

Dinner: Outback 6oz sirloin (no butter), double salad (no cheese or croutons)
It’s possible that I eat out too much. But the good news is, as long as there is decent steak and vegetables somewhere, I can still do it on this plan. I realize that you never know exactly what you are getting when you eat out. And I never want to see the kitchen anywhere that I eat, ever. Best not to know. But since I am not snacking on much these days, I think eating out won’t be the thing that sinks me. I think I can still eat out some, but I need to avoid the sweets and bread when I do. Or the chips. Or the fries. Or anything fried. If I do that, I think it’s still possible to social eat.

Anyway, I asked for the steak with no butter. Or at least no additional butter. I had two salads for my side so that I could have a steak salad the way I like it. No croutons or cheese, of course. I had plain red wine vinegar as my dressing. The oil might be an illegal oil, so I didn’t add any of that. I also had a club soda with lime. Love it.

Outback 6oz. sirloin with double salad sides. No cheese, or croutons. Red wine vinegar dressing. No oil.

Outback 6oz. sirloin with double salad sides. No cheese, or croutons. Red wine vinegar dressing. No oil.

My dinner companions, well two of the three, are also doing the Whole30 with me, so that makes it a little less stressful to eat out. The only one not on the diet is my bff’s son, Ian. He was trying to decide between ice cream for dinner or BBQ ribs. You can see he selected the ribs. I think he enjoyed eating them in front of us… one day… young man… one day…

iannothelpful

Physical Condition Report:
Bloated. I would say that is my physical condition. I feel like I have energy. But I also feel bloated. Two or three days in, I felt thin. I felt like I was going to lose lots of weight fast. The Whole30 revised timeline (there are two on their site) says that today and tomorrow are “Day 8-9: For the love of Gosling, my pants are TIGHTER!” days. So I guess that means I am on track.

They keep expressing how important it is not to worry about weight. I know this is true, I mean, we all know that we are supposed to think that is true. But, in reality, much of this sort of thing is about vanity. Mine is in part. Though I also am just very curious about this ‘reset’ business. It might be that it doesn’t do much for me. And that I will wonder if I did something wrong. Did someone sneak something into the vinegar? Did that meat have gluten? Was I supposed to drink more water? And on and on. I hope its a life changer, like many of those people carefully selected for their stories on the website.

My Whole30 Hommies!
I also wanted to do a shout out to the others that are doing this with me. Melissa, Becky, Shannon, and Tracy… you’re doing great!! Thanks for trying this with me! You make it all better by being a part of this effort. I hope you’re all getting something out of this too!! Would any of you like to do a guest post? Your food log? Your physical condition report? Think about it.

About Jennifer Andrews

is probably listing to musicals or covers and singing along.

Leave a comment